Nebraska has many divorce laws that you need to know about. They could affect your case, which is something to consider when you're decide on how to move forward with your divorce.
To start with, you cannot get a divorce in Nebraska unless you or your spouse have been living in the state for at least one year. There is another 60-day waiting period that takes place after you file for divorce, which allows time for either party to contest the divorce. Basic filing fees for divorce in Nebraska include a $75 for filing along with a $157 fee for the civil docket.
If your spouse filed for divorce, it's likely that you will receive the dissolution of marriage complaint and want to file an answer to that complaint. You may also wish to file a counterclaim, which allows you to state how you want to divide your assets and so forth.
There are three primary grounds for divorce in Nebraska including when one spouse has alcohol or drug dependency, when one spouse is mentally ill and when a marriage is irretrievably broken.
What should you do if you want to get a divorce?
The first thing you should do is make sure you get copies of all your financial documents. Sometimes, spouses lock others out of their accounts once they realize that a divorce is possible.
Once you have copies of important documents, you can speak with your attorney about filing for a divorce. Filing takes only a short amount of time, and you could complete the divorce in as few as two months.
Source: FindLaw, "Nebraska Divorce Laws," accessed April 11, 2018