Drunk driving is a serious problem in the United States. It’s believed that around 29 percent of all motor vehicle fatalities in 2015 were a result of drunk driving in 2015. Drunk driving costs the American people around $44 billion annually and results in the deaths of around 10,000.
Although that seems like a high number of deaths, it’s important to point out that drunk-driving fatalities have actually dropped by 57 percent between 1982 and 2014. A great deal of the decrease is a result of law enforcement restricting drivers from driving while intoxicated and getting them off the streets if they do.
Nebraska ranked No. 6 out of the states for being strict on drunk driving offenses. It placed 16th in prevention and has a seven-day minimum jail sentence for a person’s first conviction. A second conviction leads to 30 days in prison, while a fourth offense is an automatic felony charge. Old convictions still factor into new DUI penalties for up to 15 years. In addition, if you are convicted, you’ll lose your license for at least 90 days.
It may not surprise you that the average fine for a first-time DUI is $352 or that the second-time DUI fine is over double that at an average of $762. If you’re accused of a DUI, a strong defense can help you lower or eliminate fines like this one.
Whether you’ve been convicted in the past or are facing a first offense, it’s important to know your rights in Nebraska. Our website has more about what you can do to protect your reputation.